Kohlrabi, carrot & Kale over noodles

Kohlrabi, carrot & kale over noodles

I saw an interesting recipe in my weekly Fresh 20 plan (which I’ve been ignoring for a while) that involved kohlrabi stir fried with onion, garlic, edamame, carrots, and kale and served over noodles. Neither K nor I like egg noodles, so we made pasta instead. It was my first time eating kohlrabi. Meh. What intrigued me about the recipe was the seasoning: white wine, Dijon mustard & Herbes de Provence (or Italian seasoning :)!) and vegetable broth, with sour cream or Greek yoghurt added at the very end – that explains the whitish thing on the vegetables. It was a nice meal – very home cooked, and not too difficult to make.

I always cook more pasta than I need for a recipe, because it’s handy to have it cooked and use it for something else. I’ve been thinking about that white whine sauce without the yoghurt or sour cream, and K suggested pasta primavera would be a good use of left-over cooked bow ties (mainly because he doesn’t really like tomato sauce).

I also had left-over frozen edamamae, so, here we go, 5 easy steps to a yummy meal:

  1. Sautee frozen edamame, carrots and peas in a bit of grapeseed oil (I skipped the traditional onion and garlic at the beginning, because I’m tired of my house smelling of food).
  2. Chop some red bell pepper and cherry tomatoes.
  3. Mix up 1-2 teaspoons Dijon mustard with 1/2 cup white cooking (aka cheap) wine, Italian seasoning, and salt. Dump it in the pan with the edamame, peas, carrots, and red bell pepper. Simmer for a few minutes.
  4. Add in cooked pasta, halved cherry tomatoes, and chopped olives and stir to warm them through, but do not cook the tomatoes.
  5. Sprinkle parmesan and fresh black pepper on top.
  6. (optional) get handsome black cat to pose with the meal and enjoy with some white wine (not the cooking kind, but I’m not judging!)
Pasta primavera in 5 easy steps.

Pasta primavera in 5 easy steps.

 

