I have had the intention to establish a daily meditation habit for… oh, I don’t know, years now. Here I am, trying again, this time I signed up for Yoga Journal’s Meditation Revolution – 28 days of meditation, hopefully enough to create a habit.

I love Sally Kempton’s columns in YJ, and am excited that she is the guide of this 28 day exercise. That’s the main reason why I did not turn off the recording today and just focused on breath. I was tempted to do so, as I found the constant talking distracted from breath awareness. But then, I felt I did need a guide – someone to be with me in (virtual and electronic) spirit, so I kept it on.

I set my meditation timer  (iTunes link) for 10 minutes, and sat for a couple of minutes longer than the YJ recording.

My mind was drawn to work – the need to so so (I need to revise and resubmit a grant proposal), the lack of motivation to do so, as well as some inquiry into this lack of motivation. I really needed the timer to bring me back to the present moment! But on the upside, I did get some good, specific ideas about how to proceed with my work, and now I am motivated to get them done.

Finding the time during my usual hectic days is usually a challenge (or a poor excuse). But it’s summer now, and days are slower, so I stepped into the yoga room right after taking a shower. I usually rush through my shower and run to work afterwards, but I know it is possible to find 10 minutes before leaving the house to sit. 🙂 Hopefully, if I establish this habit during the summer, I will be able to maintain it when the semester starts.

Is anybody with me on this 28 day journey? Any and all company and support would be most welcome! Did you meditate today? Do you have any tips for sticking with a home practice, whether yoga or meditation?

May all beings everywhere be happy and free. 🙂

Namaste,
M

