I’ve been on a roll lately, and, with renewed commitment and enthusiasm, we tried eating at home at least 4-5 days a week. Here’s what’s been cooking lately 😉

This is a dish I quasi-invented with sauteed onions & apples, kale and quinoa – with a few toasted walnuts sprinkled on top.

The tostadas above start with vegetarian refried beans (from a can) and a bit of cheese. After broiling for a few minutes until the cheese melted, we topped them with a salsa made with tomato, mango, avocado, lime, and cilantro.

This soup started as a joke, after I saw a gross-looking green smoothie in Yoga Journal. But then I thought, why not make it into a savory soup? I blended an avocado, half a cucumber, spinach leaves and broccoli sprouts with lime and vegetable stock. I had leftover fresh corn and added it to the soup, along with pita chips. It was amazing!

This dish was surprisingly good – the kind I would actually pay money for in a restaurant. It is… barley (yes, barley) with shiitake mushrooms. I soaked the barley over night so it would cook in about 20 minutes. I sauteed onions, then shiitake mushrooms, and seasoned with dry Italian herbs and tomato paste – I basically followed the directions on the barley bag, but added shiitake. The flavors were amazingly savory and satisfying, and the nuttiness of barley made this dish so much better than a risotto. We sprinkled a bit of parmesan cheese on top.

There were other dishes, of course, but without photos, I don’t remember them. That’s why it’s important to save them here, for weeks when I need inspiration!

What have you been cooking lately?

